Nothing Here is Mine is HERE...and it's YOURS!

The self-released Nothing Here is Mine features 12 original songs that combine the roots of classic country with a backline of get-up-out-of-your-seat, crank-up-the-volume rock rhythms.  Carving a place in the modern Americana scene, Washington DC-based Kentucky Avenue features at its core the rich and rootsy blend of Stella Schindler’s powerfully poetic vocals and the melodic guitar musings of Dave Ries.  When their voices come together, the timeless harmonies provide a poignant, sometimes playful backdrop to their lyrics that evoke the idea behind Leonard Cohen’s famous line “there’s a crack in everything/ that’s how the light gets in.” Kentucky Avenue’s stories of broken characters are imbued with hope, illuminated by the moonlight present in many of the layered lines of their lyrics.

Visit the Kentucky Avenue Store to download Nothing Here is Mine and to purchase Cds and Merchandise

Nothing Here is Mine was brought to life under the direction of producer and engineer TJ Lipple at The Bastille and Inner Ear Studios in Shirlington, VA.

Kentucky Avenue then brought in some of the area’s finest musicians:  

TJ Lipple on drums, percussion, and vibes

Greg Watkins on upright and electric bass

David Durst on piano and organ

Meghan Davis on fiddle

And from Kentucky,
Tom Hnatow on pedal steel, accordian, and banjo
One song also features a string quartet, orchestrated by Greg Watkins.